The Greek Muses in Astrology

The Greek Muses were the daughters of Zeus, and inspirational figures of creativity to many artistic types. In astrology, they often show up prominently in the charts of creative people. Here is a list of the 9 muses… (credits to Nic Gaudette at AstrologyWeekly.com for writing this out so well that I simply couldn’t rephrase any better)

Calliope: Muse of Epic Poetry – good for those of you who are writers
Clio: Muse of History – obviously focused on history, but can also be tied to fame
Euterpe: Muse of Music, Song, and Elegiac Poetry – especially linked to music
Erato: Muse of Lyric Poetry – the poet, of course, but also linked to romantic writing
Melpomene: Muse of Tragedy – the thespian! connected to acing and the theater, as well as darker writing
Polyhymnia: Muse of Hymns – also linked to acting and poetry, but especially linked to creative spirituality and the natural metaphysic
Terpsichore: Muse of Dance – often prominent in the charts of dancers, choreographers, those known for their moves
Thalia: Muse of Comedy – often prominent in the charts of comedians or anyone who deals with comedy in their work, including cartoonists
Urania: Muse of Astrology – often prominent in the charts of astrologers, psychics, mystical types

In order, here are the asteroid numbers to plug into your own chart at Astro.com – 22, 84, 27, 62, 18, 33, 81, 23, 30.

So! I’m going to begin by looking at my own chart and my muses’ positions. To start, there are two muses that are in conjunct with my Midheaven – Clio and Urania. The Midheaven (or MC) generally represents the career path and the outward expression of self, the reputation, etc. My Midheaven is at 12 degrees Scorpio, with Clio and Urania tied in at the same point. This would translate to me as a person very well inclined for research-based career paths, especially having to do with history and topics of the occult/metaphysics and astronomy or astrology. There is potential for fame, thanks to Clio intertwined with the Midheaven, though this person is likely more antisocial because of the strong Scorpio presence. Perhaps this could mean a more “underground” type of fame. If Clio and the Midheaven were in a sign like Leo for example, fame and glory would be much more likely due to the fiery outward-focusing energy of the sign.

These points around my Midheaven form a trine with my Saturn retrograde at 20 degrees Pisces in my 2nd house, with Melpomene also in retrograde conjunct Saturn at 18 degrees Pisces. Melpomene is the muse of tragedy, so translated directly, this could be a negative placement for me, suggesting hardships. In the 2nd house, this could relate to difficulties around monetary and materialistic gain, which has proven true in the past. However, it is also a highly creative placement. I do write lyrics that tend to be of the darker variety, and I have a hard time writing positive upbeat lyrics. Saturn represents discipline and restrictions. My Saturn placement in Pisces gives me a tendency towards being a recluse. I’m very quiet and secretive, not necessarily in a scheming way, like a Scorpio might be, I just don’t talk much about myself when it isn’t necessary. I’m very sensitive to the harsh realities of the world, and it shows up in my writing, thanks to Melpomene. I’m inspired by tragedy to say the least.

Euterpe is the next muse strongly aspected in my chart. She represents music and poetry, and in my chart, she’s tied to Mars in a 1-degree conjunction in Scorpio in my 9th house. These two also form a conjunction with my Midheaven and two muses discussed earlier, Clio and Urania. Mars is the planet of action, and of primal instincts or passions. My Mars in Scorpio gives me a lot of focused energy and the willpower to challenge myself. Tying this back to Euterpe, music has always been a passion of mine. I’ve written lyrics for as long as I can remember, and have dreamed of it becoming a career (reminder that it’s loosely tied to my MC, so there’s potential here!) However I think I’d be more suited for a behind-the-scenes position in music. I’m much more comfortable writing and recording than performing!

Erato, also linked to music and poetry, but more in the romantic sense, is conjunct my Mercury and Venus by a few degrees. Remember how I said I couldn’t write upbeat songs? Well, the exception is love songs. I write semi-sappy love songs all the time. Mercury is the planet of communication and intellect, and Venus is romantic and sensual. Combine these energies with Erato’s romantic musical talent and the Venus-ruled sign Libra, where they all reside in, and you have a formidable love song writer.

So there you have it. These are the major muses in my chart. The other muses that I haven’t gone over aren’t as prominent in my own chart, so they don’t have much of an effect on me. Feel free to shoot me an email in my contact page if you have any questions about the muses in your own chart! I’ll gladly give you a reading!

Leave a comment